Important Notice to Applicants
The California State University system and the University of California system do not consider enrollment in most of their Extended Education/Continuing Education/University Extension Programs to be the equivalent as enrollment in their main campuses due to different admission requirements and different financial aid options. Therefore, enrollment in the Extended Education/Continuing Education/University Extension Programs may not qualify for the CNG EAAP.
Service members may receive CNG EAAP benefits for online classes or other programs only when the institution providing the instruction is located in California, has an Institution Participation Agreement with the Commission, and meets the requirements of a qualifying institution as defined by section 69432.7(l) of the California Education Code.
Some institutions may have online-only programs which are administered outside the state of California. Enrollment in these online-only programs will result in your not being awarded the CNG EAAP. These institutions are eligible institutions only if the participant is enrolled at the California campus.
Below is a list of institutions with eligible online programs (this is not an all-inclusive list).
Brandman University
National University
Notre Dame de Namur University
University of La Verne
University of Redlands
University of San Francisco
University of Southern California

In Senate Bill 1016 (the 2012 Budget Act), California legislation changed the California Education Coded section 69432.7(l) regarding the definition of a “qualifying institution.” An institution that is eligible for one academic year may not be eligible for the following academic year. Click here for more information.
To apply for the CNG EAAP, select the appropriate link below:
Initial Applicants
Renewal Applicants